Quick Links


About the Clarke Prize 

The Clarke Prize is named after Mrs. Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke, a native Southern Californian who was active in both business and philanthropy.  As co-founder of the National Water Research Institute (NWRI), Mrs. Clarke recognized the vital importance of water and promoted better water science and technology. In honor of her vision, NWRI established the Clarke Prize in 1994 to recognize scientists who best exemplify Mrs. Clarke's dedication to finding solutions to the nation's water resource problems.


The Clarke Prize consists of a medallion and $50,000 prize.  It is one of only a dozen water prizes awarded worldwide, and has been distinguished as one of the most prestigious awards in the world.  


Nomination Guide and Application Cover Sheet 



Nominations for the 2018 Clarke Prize Award are open!  A recipient will be anounced in June 2018. 


Download the Clarke Prize Cover Sheet HERE!


Download the Clarke Prize Guide HERE!


For questions, please email clarke@nwri-usa.org or call (714) 378-3278.  



Important Dates for the 2018 Clarke Prize 



Nomination Requirements 


Self-nominations are not accepted.


Selection Criteria


The Clarke Prize recipient is selected by the Clarke Prize Executive Committee after careful consideration of all qualifying nominees. The fields of interests of Clarke Prize nominees include, but are not limited to, engineering, physical and chemical sciences, biological sciences, health sciences, political sciences, and planning and public policy.


The Executive Committee will review nominees based on the following criteria:


Clarke Prize Executive Committee 



The Clarke Prize recipient is selected by the Clarke Prize Executive Committee after careful consideration of all nominations. The Committee includes:




George Tchobanoglous, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor Emeritus in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of California, Davis
2003 Clarke Prize Laureate




Menachem Elimelech, Ph.D.
Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering
Yale University

2005 Clarke Prize Laureate


Jeffrey Mosher

Chief Research and Strategic Planning Officer 

Water Environment & Reuse Foundation


Joan B. Rose, Ph.D.
Nowlin Endowed Chair for Water Research
Michigan State University
2001 Clarke Prize Laureate


Jerald L. Schnoor, Ph.D.
Allen S. Henry Chair in Engineering
The University of Iowa

2010 Clarke Prize Laureate


Michael P. Wehner

Assistant General Manager

Orange County Water Dsistrict