Quick Links

2016 Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture





Photos from the 2016 Award Ceremony and Lecture


The 2016 recipient of the Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize was Mark D.Sobsey, Ph.D.  Sobsey is the Kenan Distingusihed PRofessor of Environmental Sciences and Engineering in the Gillings School of Global Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC). 



NWRI established the Clarke Prize in 1993 to honor outstanding individuals who

have implemented better water science research and technology. The Clarke

medallion and $50,000 award are presented annually.



Clarke Prize Laureates (from left) Pedro Alvarez, Vernon Snoeyink, Mark Wiesner, George Tchobanoglous, recipient Mark Sobsey, Joan Rose, Phil Singer, and James Barnard pose for a photo at the Twenty-Third Annual Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture. 




The 2016 honoree, Mark D. Sobsey, with his wife Edie at the

Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture in Newport Beach, California.



Guests mingle at the Twenty-Third Annual Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture, held at the Newport Beach Marriott Resort & Spa. 




Laureate George Tchobanoglous, who chairs the Clarke Prize Executive Committee, speaks with 2016 recipient Mark Sobsey before the award ceremony.



NWRI Board Member John Withers, who served as the emcee, welcomes guests at the 2016 Clarke Prize Award Ceremony.  


James Irvine Swinden (left) and Morton Irvine Smith (right) presented Mark Sobsey with the Clarke Prize medallion and $50,000 cash prize on behalf of the Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie R. Clarke

Foundation, which helped establish the Clarke Prize.




2016 Clarke Prize recipient Mark Sobsey delivers his lecture, "Advances and Innovations to Achieve Microbially Safe and Sustainable Water: Detection, Treatment, and Risk Management." 



Visit the following links to download photos from previous Clarke Prize Award Ceremonies: